Flora & Fauna

Juror: Linda Streicher

Dates: March 3 – 26, 2023
Opening Reception: Friday, March 3, 5– 9 PM

During JCFridays

Location: ART150 Gallery
150 Bay St. Jersey City, NJ 07302

Entrance is on the corner of Provost & 1st
Gallery is wheelchair accessible.

Hours: Saturdays and Sunday in March, 1-4 PM Jersey City, NJ 2/ 15/2023

Juror’s Statement: The term, flora and fauna, identifies plants and animals associated within a particular region, environment, or period. The interdependence of plants and animals upon each other and their habitats to survive helps us appreciate life. It is no wonder that throughout the ages artists have depicted flora and fauna to express themes of time, renewal, decay, the environment, and humanity. 

This exhibit coincides with the first day of spring, a time of hope and possibilities. It is also a time when we shake off the cold, reflect upon the past, and prepare for the future. The artists submitted work using flora and/or fauna to express their relationship with the natural world. The works can range from personal joy and beauty or communal awareness and fear.

Linda Streicher is an artist, architect, and adjunct professor at St Elizabeth University. She received her MFA in Fine Arts from the School of Visual Arts in 2020, and a Master of Architecture degree from the University of Pennsylvania in 1993. She has practiced architecture in Philadelphia, San Francisco and New Jersey while continuing her art practice for thirty years. Linda has curated exhibits in New Jersey for Mondo Contemporary in Summit, ArtSpace in Morristown, and Studio Montclair in Montclair.

Participating Artists: Josephine Barreiro, Guillermo Bublik, Pam Cooper, Dorie Dahlberg, Peter  Delman, Eileen Ferara, Jodie Fink, Bennett Gewirtz, Donna Greenberg, Cheryl Gross, Susan Evans Grove, Frank Ippolito, Beatrice Mady, Kevin McCaffrey, Brian McCormack, Adrian Menichelli, Christy OConnor, Steven J Patton, Laurie Pettine, Deborah Pohl, Clara Richardson, Bill Rybak, Gale Sasson, Daryl-Ann Saunders, Leslie Sheryll, Francisco Silva, Joel Simpson, Joan Sonnenfeld, Brad Terhune, and Ann Vollum.